Awards and Honors

Oparin/Urey Medal

At the 3rd ISSOL meeting in 1980 in Jerusalem, the first Oparin medal was awarded to Cyril Ponnamperuma. The Oparin Medal, named in honor of the original founder, was created to recognize extraordinary achievement in the field. Subsequently a Urey Medal was also created and one or the other of these medals is presented to a recipient at each conference, voted on by his or her peers. At the conference in Florence in 2008, The Stanley L. Miller award was announced, providing recognition for outstanding researchers under the age of 37. Every three years ISSOL Fellows are voted on by the society and recognized.

YearLocation of MeetingMedalist
2014NaraAndrew Knoll (USA)8th Oparin
2011MontpellierJack Szostak (USA)4th Urey
2008FlorenceJames Kasting (USA)7th Oparin
2005BeijingGerald Joyce (USA)3rd Urey
2002OaxacaAlbert Eschenmoser (Switzerland)6th Oparin
1999San DiegoAlan Schwartz (The Netherlands)2nd Urey
1996OrléansJames Ferris (USA)5th Oparin
1993BarcelonaLeslie Orgel (USA)1st Urey
1989PragueJ. William Schopf (USA)4th Oparin
1986BerkeleyJuan Oró (USA)3rd Oparin
1983MainzStanley Miller (USA)2nd Oparin
1980JerusalemCyril Ponnamperuma (USA)1st Oparin

ISSOL Fellows

YearISSOL FellowCountry
2017S.A. BennerUSA
2017H.J. CleavesUSA
2017G. CooperUSA
2014N. HudUSA
2014G.E. FoxUSA
2014M.C. MaurelFrance
2014J. PeretoSpain
2011J.P. GogartenUSA
2011R. KrishnamurthyUSA
2011G. ArrheniusUSA
2008J. BadaUSA
2008A. LazcanoMexico
2008S. PizzarelloUSA
2008A. WeberUSA
2005G.F. HorneckGermany
2005M. SchidlowskiGermany
2005C.P. McKayUSA
2005L. MargulisUSA
2002R. RaulinFrance
2002D.L. DeamerUSA
2002A. EschenmoserSwitzerland
2002J.F. KastingUSA
2002D. Des MaraisUSA`
1999G. Cairns-SmithUnited Kingdom
1999A.W. SchwartzThe Netherlands
1999A. BrackFrance
1999V. GoldanskiRussia
1999S. ChangUSA
1996K. HaradaJapan
1996D.L. DeVincenziUSA
1996R.S. YoungUSA
1996J.P. FerrisUSA
1996S.W. FoxUSA
1993L.E. OrgelUSA
1989J.W. SchopfUSA
1983S.L. MillerUSA
1980C.A. PonnamperumaUSA

Note that recipients of the Urey and Oparin Medals are considered honorary Fellows.

Stanley L. Miller Early Career Award

YearS. L. Miller AwardCountry
2017A. EngelhartUSA
2014M. Pasek USA
2011M. PownerUK
2008J. RaymondUSA

In 2011 C. Dupont (USA) was awarded as Stanley L. Miller Fellow.