ISSOL Leadership

The Executive Council sets overall Society policies and in general attends to the scientific and organizational health of ISSOL. The Council exercises the full legal and fiduciary responsibilities of the board of directors of any corporation. The members of Council are the President, First Vice President, Second Vice President, Secretary, Treasurer, twelve Councillors, and two Student Councilors. Elections are held every three years.

The ISSOL Executive Council for 2017 – 2020

President: Niles Lehman (Portland State University)
First Vice President: Jim Cleaves (ELSI and Institute for Advanced Study)
Second Vice President: Uli Muller (University of California, San Diego)
Secretary: Arturo Becerra (Universidad Nacional Autonoma de Mexico)
Treasurer: Bruce Damer (University of California, Santa Cruz)

Councillors: Dieter Braun, George Cooper, Gregoire Danger, Muriel Gargaud, Terence Kee, Ram Krishnamurthy, Puri Lopez-Garcia, Cornelia Meinert, Kepa Ruiz Mirazo, Matthew Powner, Jean-Pierre de Vera, Akihito Yamagashi

Student Councillors: Hussein Kaddour, Ryan Lorig-Roach

The specific duties of the various officers are described in Statutes and By-laws. This document also states any constraints placed on the actions of Council.